You said you’d lend me anything, I think I’ll have your company

I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: life is hard but its worth living. If you forget this call me. ( I don’t want to hear excuses. ie: I don’t want to be a bother. I haven’t talked to you in 6 years. You wouldn’t understand. BOTHER ME. I love being bothered) Christmas and Hanukkah are especially hard.  I can’t fix that for you, but I can be with you and maybe that makes it less hard. I’m very serious about this, so serious that I have a tattoo on my wrist to prove it. (please bother me about your troubles) Your story is important, no one else can play your part.

IMG_0225

All this to say I visited someone in the ICU today. Also I walked my dog today, for over a mile, so I’m kind of getting better. I then took her to get her nails cut, because that’s the right thing to do. Then I went to Target. (the list is growing in impressive ways isn’t it?) The doors at Target wouldn’t open for me, they let the tall dark haired guy in and then they closed and refused to budge like a mule. I did a little back and forth kind of jig trying to get the thing to let me in, to no avail. Then a little silver haired gal came up behind me and said “you’re too small, it can’t see you” and she pushed them open.

I felt so weak in that moment.

#1 that door was heavy, I couldn’t have opened it, but granny could. #2 I’m so small that the sensor can’t sense me? What the heck! I’m 5’7 and almost 140 pounds, come on! I’m a big strong massage therapist and ballerina. #3 I’m so worn out from the mile and the dog groomer, I kind of wanted to turn back to my car and go home. Go home? No. No Target door is going to stop me, I have a nephew who will be 6 on Saturday and he needs a present from me! (And we’re out of toothpaste) So I went to Target and I was victorious. (That is to say I bought two things)

Then I felt strong! I’m going to stop at Trader Joe’s too, because they have that peanut butter my dog likes; I rather like my dog. I’m on a roll! I froze in the flower section of Trader Joe’s “You Should probably stop standing now” my womb said. I grabbed the peanut butter and the checker asked me if I thought I was going to make it.  I made it to my car, then to my couch, and I haven’t moved since. My sweetheart poured me a Reverend Nat’s Hard Cider and I’m back to recovering.

6 thoughts on “You said you’d lend me anything, I think I’ll have your company”

  1. I enjoyed this story. It came across my Facebook feed from another friend. Your friends are blessed to have you. I hope you have a great holiday season. Also, the Target doors have been acting funny lately. I am a much larger person and they didn’t work for me either. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

